Key Stage 1

Compulsory national curriculum subjects are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Physical education (PE)
  • Computing

Schools must provide religious education (RE) but parents and carers can ask for their children to be taken out of the whole lesson or part of it.

The national curriculum is organised into key stages and at the end of each key stage, your child will be assessed.

Key stage 1 is the term used for the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales known as year one and year two, when pupils are aged between 5 and 7. This key stage covers pupils during infant school or might form the first part of primary school.  

“I love to see the children thrive and enjoy their learning so much. It’s a great place to work and I love my job.”

Ilfracombe Infant Teaching Assistant